Autism awareness month

Hey, so it’s April, and it’s autism awareness month. Today is also World Autism Awareness Day. This month (as someone with ASD) I’d like to bring awareness to autism, and if I can, educate others as well. You can ask questions, have discussions, and share stories relating to autism.

13 Likes

So so so happy you made this thread!!!
I am going to school to be a special education teacher for elementary aged kids so I am super passionate about this!!

4 Likes

Really? That’s amazing!

Seriously, thank you. That made me smile.

4 Likes

I’m a sophomore in college so I still have 2.5 more years but I am so very excited! I student taught this year in a second grade classroom and there were 3 students with different disabilities and I loved them with all my heart!!! I miss them lol

4 Likes

I wouldn’t support Autism Speaks. And I don’t because they… demonize autism. They don’t really speak for autistic people and act like it’s a terrible thing. Which it isn’t.

https://mercymedical.org/autism-acceptance-dont-be-puzzled/

https://www.washingtonpost.com/outlook/2020/02/14/biggest-autism-advocacy-group-is-still-failing-too-many-autistic-people/
(this is more opinion-based but still has info)

And many, many more examples of how they let autistic people down.

3 Likes

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

1 Like