Emetophobia Thread

Hello! SO a while ago I made an “Emetophobia Thread” but it became inactive and got closed. But now that I’ve lived with emetophobia for a while and for a year have understood that I have it, I’m revamping it through this thread to shed some light on emetophobia! Keep in mind that what I’m saying is purely based on my own experience, not everyone with emetophobia will agree to my definition of it and that’s fine! Everyone has their own definitions of what their own things mean to them! But here I’m attempting to provide a definition that everyone might agree with to spread awareness. Also, keep in mind that I’m not a professional of any sort, this is all based on my own experience and what I’ve kind of seen with others. Again, everyone is different as well.

I want to open up this thread to be able to talk about this openly, especially to be able to provide comfort to people who have emetophobia or who think they might. Because of that, I ask people to not share experiences of being sick because that can be very very triggering to those with emetophobia or anxiety with emetophobia. And to not go in-depth describing sickness in general (or gore relating to that) cuz that’s also very triggering and gross. If you get triggered by talk of sickness or use of the words then I suggest that you not read this thread.

So yk, kind of open space in terms of discussion, but since people with emetophobia might read this, we wanna limit the panic attacks that might ensue lol. So no personal experiences with being sick, please! This includes why/how you got sick!

Ahem

Emetophobia is a fear of vomiting. I’ve seen some definitions of it being an “intense fear of vomiting” but tbh I think that’s a bit silly. Yes, it’s true that many with emetophobia have an intense fear of it. But I think that even if you had a minor fear that doesn’t impact your life, you’re still valid and you do have emetophobia.