Fictional Languages

There are certain book, movies, and shows, especially in the fantasy genre, which features languages that are fictional and are made to fit the fictional setting. There have been a few famous fictional languages such as the Elvish languages by J.R.R Tolkien (from Lord of the Rings), Dothraki by George R.R. Martin and David J. Peterson, and the Na’vi Language by Paul Frommer.

I get attracted by languages like Dothraki and Na’vi, so I really like listening to those languages. I would love to learn them soon when I can get my hands on them.

As a fantasy writer, I find it fun to make my own languages for a certain group in my fictional world. In my mind, it’s because they’re different races so they should grow into the community that they build. I really love worldbuilding, so there’s that too. I actually did research around the internet just for it, beginning with words that I think are primarily useful.

• What fictional languages do you know and like the most?
  • Do you think it’s important in worldbuilding? Why?
  • Have you also “invented” your own language for your fictional setting?
  • If so, can you share your experience with it?

@Writers

10 Likes

Minecraft enchanting table is the only one I can think of atm-

Yess! It’s unrealistic for everyone to speak English, even if it is for the audience to be able to understand it. It also shows the writer put effort into writing the story and building their world, and it’s really fun to learn about.

Plus, inventing a language is fun.

I’m trying, but then there’s procrastination :man_dancing:

1 Like

High Valyrian. Even Duolingo gives the option to learn it :heart_eyes:

I tried making a fictional language of my own, but failed because I ran out of inspiration. It was a mix of Hindi, Bengali and a tinge of Sanskrit dialects.

3 Likes

yes :star_struck:

1 Like