How do you get proportions right?

So, getting proportions right is always hard. My eyes always used to be way to big. So, for the artists amongst us…

1. How do you get your proportions right?
  2. What’s the best way to make sure it looks right?
  3. Does it sometimes look better if you alter the pose to be incorrect?

Please share tips… :pleading_face:

6 Likes

For proportions I mainly look at pictures and just look and change things along the way… However I don’t think proportions have to always be realistic as long as you do that on purpose, like I know most of the facial features I draw are too big but I made the decision to do it like that and I studied how it should be.

4 Likes

Simple: I don’t :joy::green_heart::eyes::sparkles::no_mouth:

2 Likes

You don’t. It’s physically impossible.
Kidding!
Most of the time I do a rough sketch of what I’m drawing. Then I perfect it little by little with darker lines =D

Or if I’m really struggling, I’ll use simple things as a guide, like circles or squares :eyes:

2 Likes

Okay here’s some things i’ve learned…

1. To actually be decent in proportions, you have to know how body works and looks. Lame advice, I know :joy:. But what I’m trying to say is, familiarize where your poses are placed and sized since parts like joints, works in unique ways: like a wedge or ball and socket. Whether it’s stylized or not, i repeat myself, you have to know how thick, thin, big, small, and wiggly your part is. As I am not an expert, I have learned it by YouTube! But of course, a good artist knows its weakness, so a good reference is okay :sweat_smile: