How to Deal With Negative Thoughts or Anxiety

A head full of thoughts, and they can get pretty negative and dark. Something I think we’ve all been dealing with, possibly even more so in the current situation. This is a subject very close to me, cause it’s something I’m dealing with a lot myself. For that exact reason tho I’m here to do this, I have a lot of knowledge on the subject. Especially in these times with corona it can be hard to stay positive and keep a good mental health, so I just wanted to try to hopefully help some people by sharing information I’ve learned.

• Accept that it is okay to not feel well mentally! There is nothing wrong with having negative thoughts. You are not alone, everyone does from time to time or on a more regular basis! But also realize that there are things you can do about it, so don’t dwell in your negative thoughts.
  • If you have thought about yourself, image the thought of feeling like you aren’t good enough, try to remind yourself that it is your thought, and thoughts aren’t facts. Thoughts are feelings, and that you feel that way doesn’t make it reality. This is called Cognitive Defusion, seeing your thoughts for what they are, thoughts. So instead of saying to yourself:
    I am not good enough
    A first step could be to change it into:
    I have the thought that I am not good enough
    Distancing yourself from your own thoughts allows you to look at them more objectively, and I’ve learnt that most of the time doing so is good enough for me to get rid of it! It just creates some distance from them, which makes it possible to look at them more objectively and put it into perspective.