My advice for Anxiety!

Hello! So I’ve been diagnosed with anxiety and gone to therapy so I’d thought I’d share what helps me.

What really helps is understanding it’s anxiety. Because when you don’t and you’re stressed and having an anxiety attack, it can get bad really quickly. The thing that helped me would be to realize it was anxiety and work from there, treat the anxiety, not the fear.

When you’re having an anxiety attack (I have no experience with panic attacks) it really feels like your body is going against you and you can’t control it. If feels like something is wrong. For me, it feels like I’m nauseous and going to throw up (which is shocker- my main anxiety!). I was prompted to discuss this because I saw one post about how someone wanted advice cuz they kept getting anxiety attacks and would be constantly afraid something was wrong and that they needed to go to the hospital or something.

Although that isn’t my specific fear, what I can say generally is to:

1. Realize you’re having a peak point of anxiety.
    Center your thoughts around your anxiety instead of the actual matter you’re worrying about.
    For instance, I was at work and started getting nauseous and was thinking, “could’ve I eaten something today that made me sick?!” Then I remembered that I used to get these a lot before medication and therapy and it’s all about not focusing on those thoughts. If you do that you’re just feeding the anxiety.
    So I changed those thoughts to, “what have I been stressed about recently?”
    And then I thought about how I’ve been really stressing about college recently.

2. What thoughts did you have right before the anxiety attack?
    Anxiety is usually (at least for me) triggered by something.

Sometimes it’s something that relates to my fear- like something sick related.

Or it’s a build up of stress.