Sport/Exercise you can do at home!

So, there is actually a lot of stuff that we can do at home during this lockdown to stay fit and active. You don’t need a gym to do exercise!!

So, I’ll keep updating this throughout the week with individual exercises and some full workouts to do, I’m no expert but I can just copy and paste the ones my coaches give me joy

So, starting off with some basic stuff:

For most activities, a 5 minute run/jog on the spot should suffice for a warm up.

Push ups
I hate these :slight_smile: But they are good for your shoulders, spine and core muscles so…

You should start small, because press ups can be quite hard- for the first day, just see how many you can do before you have to stop. Remember to try and keep your elbows as close to your sides as you can, as it’s better for the formation.
Then, the next time you do them try and aim to do at least 1 more, gradually building up your ability over time.

Don’t forget to warm up and stretch off etc before and after… you don’t want to get sore muscles or injure yourself grimacing

If you find them super difficult, do a half press-up imstead by letting your knees rest on the floor!

If you can do them easily, try the clapping! :wink:
Plank
This one is fairly simple, it generally improves your muscle strength and stability. Especially for your quads and core.
You can do it on either your hands or elbows, personally I find elbows to be harder.
For an extra challenge, you can try doing a side plank. You may want to find a video on how to do these, as I’m not sure how to explain it.

Plank Walk
These are quite difficult uwu

Squats
Very good for your thigh muscles, when you do these you should try and keep your back straight and tall, don’t let yourself bend forwards.
Also don’t sink lower than having your hips aligned with your knees, because that’s when it becomes a crouch and you don’t want that.

Bear Crawl