Things You've Always Wanted to Ask a Teacher?

If somehow someone missed the 500 times I’ve said this before, I’m a teacher now. This is my 1st academic year being paid to be a teacher, 2nd year teaching in a classroom and 8th year tutoring. Wow. I feel old.

So now I can actually answer any questions about teachers that you may have! I’m willing to talk about anything that doesn’t put my job in jeopardy – from what we do in the staff room to what teachers think about students emailing them on the weekend. Plus, why do we give you homework. Anything!

I’d say there are no silly questions, but there are probably some! So I’ll say there are very few silly questions!

Ask away!

5 Likes

I used to be a teacher up until last year, so I’m definitely interested in knowing how teaching jobs differ from country to country.

First question… What year/grade do you think is the most challenging to teach, and why?

Second question… Do you get a lunch break, or do you have to be on recess duty while your students are having lunch? Depending on what school I worked at and what grade I taught, sometimes I had a full lunch break, and sometimes I had to eat while watching the kids during recess.

2 Likes

Damn! Really good questions!

First Question

I’m a secondary school teacher (which is ages 11-18 here in the UK), but I have also taught primary school (5-11) for 2 weeks as part of my teaching qualification and helped out at a nursery. All have their challenges, but I chose secondary because I preferred being able to talk to students in a more down-to-earth way and banter with them! Then, I chose to do 6th form only (16-18) because I hated teaching some of the younger years!

I find it’s always the transition years that are the hardest. In secondary school, that’s particularly the year 8s (12-13) and 9s (13-14). They do their GCSEs in year 10-11 here (14-16) and their A-levels in year 12-13 (16-18), so they’re really focused on that. We expect a lot out of them.