Tips on how to break up with a partner

I think is the one thing most people hate doing, especially if they still care about the other person’s feelings. So, here’s a bunch of tips from someone with two exes lmao. (basically I have no experience but imma say a bunch anyway)

• Do it in person if safe/possible to do so. This is more respect than anything. There’s nothing as dismissive as being told that your relationship is over through text. It’s hard to get closure, because no emotions were shared. As well as that, things over text can be very much open to interpretation at times, meaning your break up may not hold as much weight, and a desperate partner could use that against you :man_shrugging:

• Explain your reasons, but don’t say too much. What I mean by this is; if you’re breaking up with someone because of something they’ve done/failed to do, ect., then it’s best to explain that to them, so that they can learn from it if nothing else. However, if you’re breaking up with someone because you’ve fallen for someone else, or you just don’t like them anymore, it’s better to keep the details brief. Don’t mention the other person except to acknowledge that there is one. No names. You don’t know if your ex knows that other partner, and telling them could unfairly damage their relationship with that person.

• Be gentle. Unless your partner is an @sshole who doesn’t deserve sensitivity, try to be gentle. This is a huge shock for them, and they are going to need time to process, as well as grieve the lost relationship (if it has gone on for a while)

• Don’t procrasinate. There’s nothing worse than being led on for months while your partner works up the courage to tell you that you need to break up.