Being Inspired vs. Copying

This thread isn’t about calling out authors or anything of the sort, but it seems there is a big issue that needs to discussed and addressed. It literally hurts me how new writers are easily discouraged because they write stories similar to another person’s story. As an author, I do not have an issue with someone writing a story similar to mine. I am not quick to call them a copy cat because I’ve done the same thing when I first started writing stories; I’m pretty all authors have just to jump start their writing life.

If a person straight out copied someone’s story word for word using the same exact title and plot (which is the same exact plot as another person’s story), then that’s when it becomes an issue of copying. Not only does it become copying, but that person is plagiarizing another person’s story. I have an issue with that as an author as well as many other authors. When this happens, the author has to contact that person about what they did, so that person won’t do it again. It’s real simple.

Therefore, there is a difference between a person being inspired by an author and copying an author… I’m afraid people don’t really know the difference between the two. I just feel like this issue should be addressed :woman_shrugging:t4: What do you guys think?

18 Likes

I think authors need to learn the difference. You can’t copyright ideas! So someone having a similar idea to your story isn’t plagiarism

16 Likes

Exactly! Plus, there are billions of people out there. Same ideas are bound to happen. You just can’t control it.

8 Likes

Wonderful post, this issue definitely needs to be talked about.

Especially in a civilised way like this

8 Likes

I agree with you. People do not come up with original ideas in general, unless it is based off their personal experiences. Everything is inspired by some thing :woman_shrugging:t4: It’s reality.

8 Likes