How-to Combat Scenes

I’m going to say this now. I’m not an expert in writing combat scenes. This is one of the few skills I am learning. So, I thought we could learn together on how to write combat scenes. I will post a couple of articles that go over a rule of thumb on how to write them. In truth, writing combat scenes are as tough as writing dance scenes. You have to get the reader to imagine the scene as if they were watching a movie or thinking they were fighting like this.

First Rule: Fights Should Move The Story

This means the fight has to have tied into the next scene. Otherwise, you have a scene describing fancy moves. A good way to check to see if the fight scene is cut out the scene from the story. Read the scenes before and after if it flows with no real effect to the plotline then start back over. If the two scenes don’t connect smoothly then keep the fight scene in. Fight scenes do rely solely on physical moves. You can also go over a fight mentally.

A good example would be a scene where the mc is attacked by someone/something which they barely get away alive. The mc would then go over what had just happened. They can distress for having to kill the person that attacked them which could lead to the next scene as the mc getting somewhere to clean up from the fight. They could even still be processing what just happened even in this scene. It just depends on what route you want to go with.

Second Rule: Fight Scenes should improve the character