Would you consider becoming a teacher?

If you are already a teacher, what’s it like?

I’ve been a teacher for almost ten years now. At first, it was extremely difficult. It’s not just getting up in front of a group of kids and giving instructions. There are lots of things you have to deal with, depending on the school you’re teaching at, the principal, co-workers, kids, parents, and the grade you’re teaching.
The very first class I taught did not pay attention to my instructions at all and were very rude and disrespectful. They barely passed and did horribly on exams. They were always talking while I was talking, and I frequently argued with them and lost my patience.

Don’t. Do. That
Never argue with a student! It is a waste of time, and if you stoop to their level, they will treat you that way.

Over the years, I’ve had both good and bad groups and learned more about classroom management and how to connect with the kids. I’ve taken courses that were extremely helpful, but experience is the best way to learn how to teach.

10 Likes

Funnily enough when I did work experience at the Primary school everybody there assumed I wanted to be a teacher (very understandable considering where I was) so they gave me advice on teaching skills and stuff, basically though, the kids somehow knew that even though I’m 18 and technically an adult, I’m not a grown up :joy: so they knew I wouldn’t be very…adulty should I say :joy: and boy they got away with alot of stuff like going to the toilet (I know arrest me I let kids go to the toilet) after the 2 weeks I spent there I decided teaching wasn’t for me even though the kids were rad. I got to help the nursery kids at lunch which was both gross and adorable.

3 Likes

I’d work with autistic kids. I am one, so I feel like I’d be the best equipped.

3 Likes