Anonymous writing advice

Hey guys! I actually enjoy giving writing advice but I know that some people don’t like asking for it so I decided to make an anonymous form where you can ask me for advice. (Anyone else can also give advice though).

this form is only for writing related things, the anonymous confessions and anonymous question threads are for general questions and confessions so please use them for non writing related things

here’s the form

This is my first time making one of these so if I fudged up then let me know

18 Likes

How to help with writers block??? :pleading_face::pleading_face::pleading_face::pleading_face::pleading_face:

My personal advice is to look for inspiration around you, you can literally find it anywhere whether it be in your real life or on a TV show (although don’t plagarise). Also try not to overthink it too much because that just keeps the cycle of writers block going! Just try to relax. If it’s a fantasy story then look at some folklore. If you need some more specific advice though then you can PM me.

12 Likes

How do you foreshadow without basically giving blatant spoilers? :confounded:

It’s definitely a good question, one of my favourite writing techniques is foreshadowing, you need to be pretty subtle and try to be clever in a sense. You can use symbolism. For example, in Romeo and Juliet calling them “star crossed lovers” showed that they were doomed from the start as their fate had already been written.

Using symbolism is a great way to hide foreshadowing and you can make it as obvious or as subtle as you want. Another example is in Lord of the flies, when Roger is throwing stones at a younger child it foreshadows Piggy being killed by a rock. (Sorry for the spoiler there).

8 Likes

What do most people prefer when reading a book? Past tense or Present tense? <3